Allyson Felix – Glorifying God Through Her Talents

22 days and counting to the London Summer Olympics

To continue my Christian Olympic 2012 theme, I’ve chosen Allyson Felix as my focus for this week.  Those who follow the Olympic trials probably recognize her name due to the controversial 100 meter final where Allyson and Jenebah Tarmoh finished in a 3rd place tie for the final spot on the Olympic 100 meter team.  Jenebah relinquished her potential spot to Allyson which was supposed to be decided by a run-off.  Allyson will be competing in the 100 meter, 200 meter and most likely 4×100 and 4×400 meter relays at the Olympics.  This will be her 3rd Olympics and currently holds 1 Gold and 2 Silver medals.

The medals are a by product of her talent but not the reason she runs.  As she states, “I’m thankful that I have been given this platform so that I can share my faith with the world!” Beyond the Ultimate  Allyson’s faith is the most important aspect of her life.  She grew up in a strong Christian home where her parents (father is a seminary professor) were strong Christian role models.  She has been driven to have a close relationship with God since she accepted Christ as a young girl.Allyson Felix American Olympic Athlete

“I’m currently a work in progress and like anyone else I face struggles every day. My goal is to be more Christ-like each and every day and that is not an easy task. I know that I’m trying to be something different from [other Olympic runners] and after I run I hope that people can distinguish [Christ-like] character in the way I present myself.” Beyond the Ultimate  Allyson views her running as a special gift from God.  She wants to utilize this gift for the purpose of showcasing and glorifying God for all to see.

Allyson’s favorite Bible verse is Philippians 4:6-7 that says, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” This verse will serve her well as the pressure of the spotlight of the Olympics has already started and will continue through her races.

She sees her ultimate achievement is not a Gold medal though BUT is to know Christ and have one’s sins forgiven.

Allyson is a true Fisher of Men for God.  Anyone that wants to learn more about her faith or how they can have a relationship with God, she ready to witness.

Leave a Reply

