Kylie Biustti – Balancing Christianity with Professional Modeling

I came across an article title about a girl who won the 2009 Victoria Secret Model Search at the age of 19 but also professes to be a Christian.  It was an immediate struggle within my head how a Christian could also be a Victoria Secret model and all that comes with the job.  So, I did some research concerning this girl to find out more.

Kylie Biscutti beat out over 10,000 contestants in 2009 to win the Victoria Secret Model Search.  At the young age of 19, Kylie was also newly married and when asked about the contest she said,  “I have a very sweet personality, but don’t let that exterior fool you. I want this, and I’ll do what it takes to get it.”  Kylie spent the next 2 years attending all kinds of star studded events /  functions and photo shoots for different Men’s magazines. She even admits to doing things she wasn’t proud of as part of the lifestyle.  While most girls would revel in the spotlight of the fame of being a famous Victoria Secret Model and being on the cover of magazines such as Maxim, Kylie’s Christianity got in the way.  “Victoria’s Secret was my absolutely biggest goal in life, and it was all I ever wanted career-wise. I actually loved it while I was there, it was so much fun and I had a blast. But the more I was modeling lingerie, and lingerie isn’t clothing, I just started becoming more uncomfortable with it because of my faith…I’m Christian, and reading the Bible more, I was becoming more convicted about it.”

So after 2 years of being a Victoria Secret Model, Kylie walked away.  Besides being convicted as a Christian concerning modeling lingerie, her Christian based marriage also played a role. “My body should only be for my husband and it’s just a sacred thing.”  Kylie wants to be a Christian role model for all young girls and she plans on doing that by standing up and living her life by her Christian beliefs and love of God.

Her website has a paragraph that sums up what Kylie is accomplishing.

I began hosting parties, attending red carpet events, and getting more attention than a young girl could ever want. I posed for various men’s magazines and was on the cover of multiple magazines. I shot for Victoria’s Secret catalogues and attended an autograph signing party at their store in Chicago. I even fell into some things that I’m really not proud of, but at the time thought that it was okay and all about the fame of the industry. The further I fell into the dark hole of “satans playground” the more insecure and unhappy I became, then something amazing happened!!! The Lord graciously opened my eyes and saved me from the love of worldliness that was taking over me. He brought me to a place in my life of realization and truth! He reshaped my desires for my life and showed me that my body is a temple and was created to be honoring to Him in all things, especially in my marriage and in being an example to younger girls! I decided to make some changes in the path that I was headed down. I vowed to never pose for a men’s magazine again. I decided not to be seen in lingerie by any man but my husband. I decided to stop trying to become a sex symbol and to pursue being a wholesome, Godly example! Everything I went through was for a bigger purpose. For HIS purpose. He used my sin to bring me to a better place. A place where I can now be an example to other in the way that I live and I am so thankful for that! My prayer is that the Lord will use everything I have done as a platform to help others through honoring Him and God willing change lives’

Many in this world are going to question and ridicule Kylie for her decision to walk away the lucrative money in posing provocatively but she knows that God has a bigger purpose for her life.  That she can be an example to females young and old who feel pressured by our sexually oriented culture. This is Kylie’s way of using her God given talents to be a Fisher of Men for God.   Kylie still  models but chooses to do it in a Christian way.

Leave a Reply

